- Purchase
- $40,000–$99,000
- Lease
- Financing stated to exist
Both the SoftWave Gold Li Series (OW100S) and the Medispec Orthospec sit in our broad-focused, urology and specialty group. Both use electrohydraulic wave generation. Only the SoftWave Gold Li Series (OW100S) has a published purchase figure ($40,000–$99,000 as previously reported on 20 August 2026; the current page uses an ROI calculator instead); the Medispec Orthospec's price is not published. FDA records located: for the SoftWave Gold Li Series (OW100S), 510(k) K233937 (Diabetic foot ulcers); for the Medispec Orthospec, no record located.
Specs and prices are estimates based on publicly available data as of September 2026. Confirm details with the manufacturer or seller before you buy.
| Specification | Broad-focused & specialtySoftWave Gold Li Series (OW100S) | Broad-focused & specialtyMedispec Orthospec |
|---|---|---|
Technology | ||
| Category | Broad-focused, urology and specialty | Broad-focused, urology and specialty |
| Wave generation | Electrohydraulicparabolic reflector | Electrohydraulicspark gap, marketed as Multi-Wave |
| Energy fieldWhere the peak energy lands | Spread across a treatment volume | Peaks at a focal point |
| Technology as published | Broad-focused electrohydraulic, parabolic reflector | Focused ESWT, proprietary Multi-Wave |
| Stated use or positioning | Musculoskeletal, urology, and dermatology and wound versionsSoftWave marks the urology version as not FDA cleared for that use | Not stated |
Energy outputPressure in bar, energy flux density in mJ/mm² and energy per pulse in mJ are different quantities. A figure in one row never stands in for another. | ||
| Energy flux densitymJ/mm² | 0.01–0.19 mJ/mm²across the treatment volume | Not published |
| Energy per pulsemJ | 0.34–4.22 mJfocus energy at −6 dB | Not published |
| FrequencyHz | 0.5–8 Hz | Not published |
Depth and treatment fieldFocal depth, penetration and focus volume measure three different things. Compare like with like. | ||
| Maximum penetration | Up to 12 cmSoftWave's stated reach, 7 cm wide | Not published |
| Focus volumeA volume, not a depth | 0–82 mm−6 dB zone of the OP155 applicator | Not published |
Applicators and handpiece | ||
| Applicators and transmitters | OP155 applicator | Not published |
Size and setup | ||
| Unit weight | 36.3 lb (≈ 16.5 kg) | Not published |
| Dimensions | 8.5 × 15.75 × 18 in | Not published |
| Configuration | Transportable consoleclosed-loop water system that degasses automatically; SmartTrode electrodes | Wheeled or desktopOrthospec Compact and Orthospec Desktop models; touch screen |
| Other published details | AC 100–240 V, 200 VA | 20–30 minute outpatient procedureMedispec says “up to” 20–30 minutes, with no anaesthesia or imaging needed |
Price and buying | ||
| Purchase price | $40,000–$99,000as previously reported on 20 August 2026; the current page uses an ROI calculator instead | Not publicly listed |
| Monthly lease | Financing stated to existterms not public | Not publicly listed |
| Sales and service | Strong US direct sales | Maryland headquarters with a demonstration programme |
Regulatory recordRecord types and numbers exactly as located. A record covers one configuration and one indication, and never transfers to another product. | ||
| FDA record located | 510(k) K233937 | None located |
| Indication as worded in the record | Diabetic foot ulcers | No record to quote |
| Decision date | July 2024 | Not stated |
| Other marks and claims | None noted | Site claims “FDA Cleared” without a 510(k) number |
Our notes | ||
| Where it stands out | The clearest FDA record among the broad-field devices, with strong US direct sales. | Established Maryland headquarters with a demonstration programme. |
| What to check | Map the exact model and configuration to the cleared indication before quoting the record. | The manufacturer site claims “FDA Cleared” without showing a 510(k) number. Request the number directly. |
8 further fields have no published figure for either machine.
Both the SoftWave Gold Li Series (OW100S) and the Medispec Orthospec sit in our broad-focused, urology and specialty group. Both use electrohydraulic wave generation. The SoftWave Gold Li Series (OW100S) is described as “Broad-focused electrohydraulic, parabolic reflector”, the Medispec Orthospec as “Focused ESWT, proprietary Multi-Wave”.
Only the SoftWave Gold Li Series (OW100S) has a published purchase figure ($40,000–$99,000 as previously reported on 20 August 2026; the current page uses an ROI calculator instead); the Medispec Orthospec's price is not published. Prices change and estimates are not quotes, so confirm both in writing.
FDA records located: for the SoftWave Gold Li Series (OW100S), 510(k) K233937 (Diabetic foot ulcers); for the Medispec Orthospec, no record located. A record covers one configuration and one indication, and never transfers to another model, so check it against the exact configuration you are quoted.
Start with the clinical job, then ask both vendors for the same five things in writing: the exact model, revision, and which accessories are included at that price; contract term, APR, total payments, and the buyout option at the end; handpiece and consumable life, and what a replacement costs; warranty coverage and US service turnaround time; the exact FDA clearance number and the current labelling for the configuration being quoted.
Still deciding?
Tell us about your practice and caseload. We will help you weigh the options and send lease and purchase estimates for the machines we sell.