EMS Swiss DolorClast Focused vs KAPHA EMFOCUS VET

Both the EMS Swiss DolorClast Focused and the KAPHA EMFOCUS VET concentrate their energy at a focal point inside tissue, so they are built for the same clinical job and compare fairly. The EMS Swiss DolorClast Focused uses piezoelectric wave generation; the KAPHA EMFOCUS VET uses electromagnetic. Neither publishes a purchase price, so both need a written quote. FDA records located: for the EMS Swiss DolorClast Focused, 510(k) K243279 (Diabetic foot ulcers); for the KAPHA EMFOCUS VET, no record located.

Specs and prices are estimates based on publicly available data as of September 2026. Confirm details with the manufacturer or seller before you buy.

Side by side

SpecificationFocusedEMS Swiss DolorClast FocusedBroad-focused & specialtyKAPHA EMFOCUS VET
Technology
CategoryFocused systemsBroad-focused, urology and specialty
Wave generationPiezoelectricElectromagneticcoil in water
Energy fieldWhere the peak energy landsPeaks at a focal pointPeaks at a focal point
Technology as publishedFocused piezoelectricVeterinary electromagnetic focused
Stated use or positioningNot statedVeterinaryhorses, dogs and cats
Energy outputPressure in bar, energy flux density in mJ/mm² and energy per pulse in mJ are different quantities. A figure in one row never stands in for another.
Energy flux densitymJ/mm²Withheld: EMS's own figures conflictThe product brochure lists 0.008–0.403 mJ/mm², while EMS's therapy brochure gives 0.55 mJ/mm² at the focus point. Neither explains the measurement basis.0.45 mJ/mm²listed as intensity
Energy adjustmentIntensity 0.1–20Not published
FrequencyHz1–8 Hz1–10 Hz
Depth and treatment fieldFocal depth, penetration and focus volume measure three different things. Compare like with like.
Focal depth4 cmmidpoint focus; the gel pads shift itWithheld: the manufacturer's figures conflictThe manufacturer's own specifications give 45 mm in one place and 65 mm in another, so no depth figure is published.
Maximum penetrationUp to 6.5 cmat 5 MPaNot published
Applicators and handpiece
Applicators and transmitters3 gel padsto adjust the depth of the focus pointNot published
Handpiece lifeOver 5 million impulsesNot published
Applicator weight1.4 kgNot published
Preset protocolsNot published23
Size and setup
Unit weight15 kg (≈ 33.1 lb)console; the optional cart adds 18 kgNot published
Dimensions180 × 340 × 450 mmconsole446 × 256 × 644 mm
ConfigurationTransportable consoleoptional cartMobile wheeled chassiswith a drawbar, for clinics or stables
Other published detailsTouch-screen console; on/off and intensity buttons on the handpiecepreset protocols, plus analgesic and ramp-up modesWater-based focusingno gel pads; intensity buttons on the handpiece
Price and buying
Purchase priceNot publicly listedNot publicly listedquote or OEM
Monthly leaseNot publicly listedNot publicly listedquote or OEM
Regulatory recordRecord types and numbers exactly as located. A record covers one configuration and one indication, and never transfers to another product.
FDA record located510(k) K243279None located
Indication as worded in the recordDiabetic foot ulcersNo record to quote
Decision dateAugust 2025Not stated
Our notes
Where it stands outA recent August 2025 FDA decision is on file.The only veterinary-specific model found in this research pass.
What to checkConfirm the current labelling before quoting broader indications than the record carries.No US veterinary regulatory record was located, and the manufacturer's own specifications conflict on maximum depth: 45 mm in one place and 65 mm in another.

7 further fields have no published figure for either machine.

EMS Swiss DolorClast Focused vs KAPHA EMFOCUS VET: common questions

What is the difference between the EMS Swiss DolorClast Focused and the KAPHA EMFOCUS VET?

Both the EMS Swiss DolorClast Focused and the KAPHA EMFOCUS VET concentrate their energy at a focal point inside tissue, so they are built for the same clinical job and compare fairly. The EMS Swiss DolorClast Focused uses piezoelectric wave generation; the KAPHA EMFOCUS VET uses electromagnetic. The EMS Swiss DolorClast Focused is described as “Focused piezoelectric”, the KAPHA EMFOCUS VET as “Veterinary electromagnetic focused”.

Which is cheaper, the EMS Swiss DolorClast Focused or the KAPHA EMFOCUS VET?

Neither publishes a purchase price, so both need a written quote. Prices change and estimates are not quotes, so confirm both in writing.

Are the EMS Swiss DolorClast Focused and the KAPHA EMFOCUS VET FDA cleared?

FDA records located: for the EMS Swiss DolorClast Focused, 510(k) K243279 (Diabetic foot ulcers); for the KAPHA EMFOCUS VET, no record located. A record covers one configuration and one indication, and never transfers to another model, so check it against the exact configuration you are quoted.

How do I choose between the EMS Swiss DolorClast Focused and the KAPHA EMFOCUS VET?

Start with the clinical job, then ask both vendors for the same five things in writing: the exact model, revision, and which accessories are included at that price; contract term, APR, total payments, and the buyout option at the end; handpiece and consumable life, and what a replacement costs; warranty coverage and US service turnaround time; the exact FDA clearance number and the current labelling for the configuration being quoted.

More comparisons

Still deciding?

Talk it through with our equipment team

Tell us about your practice and caseload. We will help you weigh the options and send lease and purchase estimates for the machines we sell.

Request a consultation
↑