Chattanooga Intelect RPW2 vs Oceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE

Both the Chattanooga Intelect RPW2 and the Oceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE put their peak energy at the applicator surface, so they are built for the same clinical job and compare fairly. The Chattanooga Intelect RPW2 uses pneumatic wave generation; the Oceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE uses electromagnetic ballistic. On published purchase figures, the Oceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE ($5,999–$9,999) comes in below the Chattanooga Intelect RPW2 ($18,775.52 estimate). FDA records located: for the Chattanooga Intelect RPW2, an establishment listing only, which is not a clearance; for the Oceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE, no record located.

Specs and prices are estimates based on publicly available data as of September 2026. Confirm details with the manufacturer or seller before you buy.

Side by side

SpecificationRadialChattanooga Intelect RPW2Value tierOceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE
Technology
CategoryRadial pressure waveValue and direct-import tier
Wave generationPneumaticElectromagnetic ballisticcompressor-free radial, per the specification table
Energy fieldWhere the peak energy landsPeaks at the applicator surfacePeaks at the applicator surface
Technology as publishedRadial pressure wave, pneumaticClinical and at-home shockwave and ultrasonic
Stated use or positioningNot statedClinical useOceanus also sells an in-home device, the PhysioLITE III
Energy outputPressure in bar, energy flux density in mJ/mm² and energy per pulse in mJ are different quantities. A figure in one row never stands in for another.
Energy per pulsemJNot published60–185 mJequivalent to 1–5 bar, as published
Pressurebar0.3–5 barin 0.1 bar stepsNot published
Energy adjustmentExtended pressure rangeNot published
FrequencyHz1–21 HzFalcon handpiece1–22 Hz
Depth and treatment fieldFocal depth, penetration and focus volume measure three different things. Compare like with like.
Maximum penetration0–50 mmwith the standard D20-S transmitter; 0–60 mm with the optional DI15 and D35-SNot published
Applicators and handpiece
Applicators and transmittersD20-S and Ro40 D-Actor transmitters, V-ACTOR HFthe V-ACTOR HF vibration handpiece (1–50 Hz) is optional; 21 transmitters are available6, 15 and 25 mm heads
Handpiece lifeNot published4,000,000 pulsesPhysioPRO warranty minimum; PhysioPRO II 2,000,000
Preset protocolsBuilt-in librarycount not stated7 presetsplus more than 25 illustrated treatment recommendations
Size and setup
Unit weight66.14 lb (≈ 30 kg)2.07 kg (≈ 4.6 lb)controller unit only
Dimensions16.15 × 16.54 × 43.31 inW × H × D as published12 × 9.5 × 5 inL × W × H
ConfigurationSlim clinic unit on a built-in rolling cartTabletop controller with therapy handlealuminum carrying case; the PhysioPRO II is controlled from a phone or tablet app
Other published details7-inch touchscreensingle-pulse or continuous modes; Comfort Mode ramps energy up gradually7.0-inch colour touchscreenPhysioPRO; 4 burst modes
Price and buying
Purchase price$18,775.52estimate$5,999–$9,999PhysioPRO II $5,999 · PhysioPRO $9,999
Monthly lease$427 per monthestimate$500 per monthadvertised, factory direct
Priced accessoriesSparrow / Falcon handpiece revision kit, $1,200; 9 Transmitter Set in carrying case, $7,400Not published
Warranty and guaranteesNot publishedThree years on the controller, one year on accessoriesplus a 30-day money-back guarantee; the company page states a one-year guarantee on all products
Sales and servicePurchase or lease through Shockwave SourceFactory-direct leaseonline store, financing and dealers
Regulatory recordRecord types and numbers exactly as located. A record covers one configuration and one indication, and never transfers to another product.
FDA record locatedEstablishment listing onlynot a model-specific clearanceNone located
Indication as worded in the recordListing only. Not a model-specific clearance and carries no indication.No record to quote
Other marks and claimsNone notedAdvertises “FDA registered”a facility registration, not a clearance
Our notes
Where it stands outCompact chassis with published purchase and lease pricing.An aggressive lease entry point.
What to checkThe FDA record found is a DJO establishment listing, not a device-specific clearance.The site advertises “FDA registered”, which is a facility registration and is not the same as clearance. Verify model-specific labelling.

5 further fields have no published figure for either machine.

Chattanooga Intelect RPW2 vs Oceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE: common questions

What is the difference between the Chattanooga Intelect RPW2 and the Oceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE?

Both the Chattanooga Intelect RPW2 and the Oceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE put their peak energy at the applicator surface, so they are built for the same clinical job and compare fairly. The Chattanooga Intelect RPW2 uses pneumatic wave generation; the Oceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE uses electromagnetic ballistic. The Chattanooga Intelect RPW2 is described as “Radial pressure wave, pneumatic”, the Oceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE as “Clinical and at-home shockwave and ultrasonic”.

Which is cheaper, the Chattanooga Intelect RPW2 or the Oceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE?

On published purchase figures, the Oceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE ($5,999–$9,999) comes in below the Chattanooga Intelect RPW2 ($18,775.52 estimate). Monthly figures: Chattanooga Intelect RPW2, $427 per month; Oceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE, $500 per month. Prices change and estimates are not quotes, so confirm both in writing.

Are the Chattanooga Intelect RPW2 and the Oceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE FDA cleared?

FDA records located: for the Chattanooga Intelect RPW2, an establishment listing only, which is not a clearance; for the Oceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE, no record located. A record covers one configuration and one indication, and never transfers to another model, so check it against the exact configuration you are quoted.

How do I choose between the Chattanooga Intelect RPW2 and the Oceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE?

Start with the clinical job, then ask both vendors for the same five things in writing: the exact model, revision, and which accessories are included at that price; contract term, APR, total payments, and the buyout option at the end; handpiece and consumable life, and what a replacement costs; warranty coverage and US service turnaround time; the exact FDA clearance number and the current labelling for the configuration being quoted.

More comparisons

Still deciding?

Talk it through with our equipment team

Tell us about your practice and caseload. We will help you weigh the options and send lease and purchase estimates for the machines we sell.

Request a consultation
↑