EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic vs Oceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE

Both the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic and the Oceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE put their peak energy at the applicator surface, so they are built for the same clinical job and compare fairly. The EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic uses pneumatic wave generation; the Oceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE uses electromagnetic ballistic. Only the Oceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE has a published purchase figure ($5,999–$9,999); the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic's price is not published. FDA records located: for the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic, PMA P050004 (Chronic proximal plantar fasciitis in patients 18 or older, with symptoms for 6 months or more and a history of unsuccessful conservative therapy); for the Oceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE, no record located.

Specs and prices are estimates based on publicly available data as of September 2026. Confirm details with the manufacturer or seller before you buy.

Side by side

SpecificationRadialEMS Swiss DolorClast ClassicValue tierOceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE
Technology
CategoryRadial pressure waveValue and direct-import tier
Wave generationPneumaticexternal compressed-air supplyElectromagnetic ballisticcompressor-free radial, per the specification table
Energy fieldWhere the peak energy landsPeaks at the applicator surfacePeaks at the applicator surface
Technology as publishedPneumatic radial, external compressorClinical and at-home shockwave and ultrasonic
Stated use or positioningNot statedClinical useOceanus also sells an in-home device, the PhysioLITE III
Energy outputPressure in bar, energy flux density in mJ/mm² and energy per pulse in mJ are different quantities. A figure in one row never stands in for another.
Energy flux densitymJ/mm²Up to 0.18 mJ/mm²Not published
Energy per pulsemJNot published60–185 mJequivalent to 1–5 bar, as published
Pressurebar1–4 barNot published
FrequencyHzUp to 15 Hz1–22 Hz
Applicators and handpiece
Applicators and transmittersHandpiece with a 15 mm applicatoras described in the FDA summary6, 15 and 25 mm heads
Handpiece lifeOver 500,000 impulsesvalidated in the 2007 FDA summary4,000,000 pulsesPhysioPRO warranty minimum; PhysioPRO II 2,000,000
Preset protocolsNot published7 presetsplus more than 25 illustrated treatment recommendations
Size and setup
Unit weightNot published2.07 kg (≈ 4.6 lb)controller unit only
DimensionsNot published12 × 9.5 × 5 inL × W × H
ConfigurationConsole with manometer and LCDruns from an external compressed-air supply; compressor and cart are optional accessoriesTabletop controller with therapy handlealuminum carrying case; the PhysioPRO II is controlled from a phone or tablet app
Other published detailsEMS's original radial devicesold since 19997.0-inch colour touchscreenPhysioPRO; 4 burst modes
Price and buying
Purchase priceNot publicly listed$5,999–$9,999PhysioPRO II $5,999 · PhysioPRO $9,999
Monthly leaseNot publicly listed$500 per monthadvertised, factory direct
Warranty and guaranteesNot publishedThree years on the controller, one year on accessoriesplus a 30-day money-back guarantee; the company page states a one-year guarantee on all products
Sales and serviceThrough EMSnot listed on EMS's US website; confirm it is still soldFactory-direct leaseonline store, financing and dealers
Regulatory recordRecord types and numbers exactly as located. A record covers one configuration and one indication, and never transfers to another product.
FDA record locatedPMA P050004None located
Indication as worded in the recordChronic proximal plantar fasciitis in patients 18 or older, with symptoms for 6 months or more and a history of unsuccessful conservative therapyNo record to quote
Decision dateMay 2007Not stated
Other marks and claimsNone notedAdvertises “FDA registered”a facility registration, not a clearance
Our notes
Where it stands outA PMA approval, FDA's most stringent premarket pathway, covering chronic proximal plantar fasciitis.An aggressive lease entry point.
What to checkAn older design that needs an external compressor. EMS's US website lists only its DolorClast Radial and Focused, so confirm the Classic is still sold before quoting.The site advertises “FDA registered”, which is a facility registration and is not the same as clearance. Verify model-specific labelling.

6 further fields have no published figure for either machine.

EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic vs Oceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE: common questions

What is the difference between the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic and the Oceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE?

Both the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic and the Oceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE put their peak energy at the applicator surface, so they are built for the same clinical job and compare fairly. The EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic uses pneumatic wave generation; the Oceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE uses electromagnetic ballistic. The EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic is described as “Pneumatic radial, external compressor”, the Oceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE as “Clinical and at-home shockwave and ultrasonic”.

Which is cheaper, the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic or the Oceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE?

Only the Oceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE has a published purchase figure ($5,999–$9,999); the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic's price is not published. Monthly figures: EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic, not published; Oceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE, $500 per month. Prices change and estimates are not quotes, so confirm both in writing.

Are the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic and the Oceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE FDA cleared?

FDA records located: for the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic, PMA P050004 (Chronic proximal plantar fasciitis in patients 18 or older, with symptoms for 6 months or more and a history of unsuccessful conservative therapy); for the Oceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE, no record located. A record covers one configuration and one indication, and never transfers to another model, so check it against the exact configuration you are quoted.

How do I choose between the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic and the Oceanus PhysioPRO / II / LITE?

Start with the clinical job, then ask both vendors for the same five things in writing: the exact model, revision, and which accessories are included at that price; contract term, APR, total payments, and the buyout option at the end; handpiece and consumable life, and what a replacement costs; warranty coverage and US service turnaround time; the exact FDA clearance number and the current labelling for the configuration being quoted.

More comparisons

Still deciding?

Talk it through with our equipment team

Tell us about your practice and caseload. We will help you weigh the options and send lease and purchase estimates for the machines we sell.

Request a consultation
↑