Chattanooga Intelect RPW2 vs EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic

Both the Chattanooga Intelect RPW2 and the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic put their peak energy at the applicator surface, so they are built for the same clinical job and compare fairly. Both use pneumatic wave generation. Only the Chattanooga Intelect RPW2 has a published purchase figure ($18,775.52 estimate); the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic's price is not published. FDA records located: for the Chattanooga Intelect RPW2, an establishment listing only, which is not a clearance; for the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic, PMA P050004 (Chronic proximal plantar fasciitis in patients 18 or older, with symptoms for 6 months or more and a history of unsuccessful conservative therapy).

Specs and prices are estimates based on publicly available data as of September 2026. Confirm details with the manufacturer or seller before you buy.

Side by side

SpecificationRadialChattanooga Intelect RPW2RadialEMS Swiss DolorClast Classic
Technology
CategoryRadial pressure waveRadial pressure wave
Wave generationPneumaticPneumaticexternal compressed-air supply
Energy fieldWhere the peak energy landsPeaks at the applicator surfacePeaks at the applicator surface
Technology as publishedRadial pressure wave, pneumaticPneumatic radial, external compressor
Energy outputPressure in bar, energy flux density in mJ/mm² and energy per pulse in mJ are different quantities. A figure in one row never stands in for another.
Energy flux densitymJ/mm²Not publishedUp to 0.18 mJ/mm²
Pressurebar0.3–5 barin 0.1 bar steps1–4 bar
Energy adjustmentExtended pressure rangeNot published
FrequencyHz1–21 HzFalcon handpieceUp to 15 Hz
Depth and treatment fieldFocal depth, penetration and focus volume measure three different things. Compare like with like.
Maximum penetration0–50 mmwith the standard D20-S transmitter; 0–60 mm with the optional DI15 and D35-SNot published
Applicators and handpiece
Applicators and transmittersD20-S and Ro40 D-Actor transmitters, V-ACTOR HFthe V-ACTOR HF vibration handpiece (1–50 Hz) is optional; 21 transmitters are availableHandpiece with a 15 mm applicatoras described in the FDA summary
Handpiece lifeNot publishedOver 500,000 impulsesvalidated in the 2007 FDA summary
Preset protocolsBuilt-in librarycount not statedNot published
Size and setup
Unit weight66.14 lb (≈ 30 kg)Not published
Dimensions16.15 × 16.54 × 43.31 inW × H × D as publishedNot published
ConfigurationSlim clinic unit on a built-in rolling cartConsole with manometer and LCDruns from an external compressed-air supply; compressor and cart are optional accessories
Other published details7-inch touchscreensingle-pulse or continuous modes; Comfort Mode ramps energy up graduallyEMS's original radial devicesold since 1999
Price and buying
Purchase price$18,775.52estimateNot publicly listed
Monthly lease$427 per monthestimateNot publicly listed
Priced accessoriesSparrow / Falcon handpiece revision kit, $1,200; 9 Transmitter Set in carrying case, $7,400Not published
Sales and servicePurchase or lease through Shockwave SourceThrough EMSnot listed on EMS's US website; confirm it is still sold
Regulatory recordRecord types and numbers exactly as located. A record covers one configuration and one indication, and never transfers to another product.
FDA record locatedEstablishment listing onlynot a model-specific clearancePMA P050004
Indication as worded in the recordListing only. Not a model-specific clearance and carries no indication.Chronic proximal plantar fasciitis in patients 18 or older, with symptoms for 6 months or more and a history of unsuccessful conservative therapy
Decision dateNot statedMay 2007
Our notes
Where it stands outCompact chassis with published purchase and lease pricing.A PMA approval, FDA's most stringent premarket pathway, covering chronic proximal plantar fasciitis.
What to checkThe FDA record found is a DJO establishment listing, not a device-specific clearance.An older design that needs an external compressor. EMS's US website lists only its DolorClast Radial and Focused, so confirm the Classic is still sold before quoting.

7 further fields have no published figure for either machine.

Chattanooga Intelect RPW2 vs EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic: common questions

What is the difference between the Chattanooga Intelect RPW2 and the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic?

Both the Chattanooga Intelect RPW2 and the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic put their peak energy at the applicator surface, so they are built for the same clinical job and compare fairly. Both use pneumatic wave generation. The Chattanooga Intelect RPW2 is described as “Radial pressure wave, pneumatic”, the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic as “Pneumatic radial, external compressor”.

Which is cheaper, the Chattanooga Intelect RPW2 or the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic?

Only the Chattanooga Intelect RPW2 has a published purchase figure ($18,775.52 estimate); the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic's price is not published. Monthly figures: Chattanooga Intelect RPW2, $427 per month; EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic, not published. Prices change and estimates are not quotes, so confirm both in writing.

Are the Chattanooga Intelect RPW2 and the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic FDA cleared?

FDA records located: for the Chattanooga Intelect RPW2, an establishment listing only, which is not a clearance; for the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic, PMA P050004 (Chronic proximal plantar fasciitis in patients 18 or older, with symptoms for 6 months or more and a history of unsuccessful conservative therapy). A record covers one configuration and one indication, and never transfers to another model, so check it against the exact configuration you are quoted.

How do I choose between the Chattanooga Intelect RPW2 and the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic?

Start with the clinical job, then ask both vendors for the same five things in writing: the exact model, revision, and which accessories are included at that price; contract term, APR, total payments, and the buyout option at the end; handpiece and consumable life, and what a replacement costs; warranty coverage and US service turnaround time; the exact FDA clearance number and the current labelling for the configuration being quoted.

More comparisons

Still deciding?

Talk it through with our equipment team

Tell us about your practice and caseload. We will help you weigh the options and send lease and purchase estimates for the machines we sell.

Request a consultation
↑