EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic vs STORZ MASTERPULS MP200 ultra

Both the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic and the STORZ MASTERPULS MP200 ultra put their peak energy at the applicator surface, so they are built for the same clinical job and compare fairly. Both use pneumatic wave generation. Neither publishes a purchase price, so both need a written quote. FDA records located: for the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic, PMA P050004 (Chronic proximal plantar fasciitis in patients 18 or older, with symptoms for 6 months or more and a history of unsuccessful conservative therapy); for the STORZ MASTERPULS MP200 ultra, no record located.

Specs and prices are estimates based on publicly available data as of September 2026. Confirm details with the manufacturer or seller before you buy.

Side by side

SpecificationRadialEMS Swiss DolorClast ClassicRadialSTORZ MASTERPULS MP200 ultra
Technology
CategoryRadial pressure waveRadial pressure wave
Wave generationPneumaticexternal compressed-air supplyPneumaticballistic, integrated compressor
Energy fieldWhere the peak energy landsPeaks at the applicator surfacePeaks at the applicator surface
Technology as publishedPneumatic radial, external compressorPneumatic ballistic radial, with vibration and vacuum therapy
Stated use or positioningNot statedRadial shockwave, vibration and vacuum therapySTORZ's “Triple technology »Deluxe« module” of the »ultra« line
Energy outputPressure in bar, energy flux density in mJ/mm² and energy per pulse in mJ are different quantities. A figure in one row never stands in for another.
Energy flux densitymJ/mm²Up to 0.18 mJ/mm²Not published
Pressurebar1–4 bar0.3–5 bareffective
FrequencyHzUp to 15 Hz1–21 Hz
Applicators and handpiece
Applicators and transmittersHandpiece with a 15 mm applicatoras described in the FDA summaryFALCON radial handpieceoptional V-ACTOR HF vibration handpiece at 1–50 Hz; vacuum cups in 4 sizes
Handpiece lifeOver 500,000 impulsesvalidated in the 2007 FDA summaryNot published
Size and setup
Unit weightNot published23 kg (≈ 50.7 lb)
DimensionsNot published466 × 187 × 454 mmW × H × D, without touch screen
ConfigurationConsole with manometer and LCDruns from an external compressed-air supply; compressor and cart are optional accessoriesConsole with an integrated compressoroptional 10-inch touch screen
Other published detailsEMS's original radial devicesold since 1999Settings shown and changed on the handpieceSkin Touch pulse triggering
Price and buying
Purchase priceNot publicly listedNot publicly listed
Monthly leaseNot publicly listedNot publicly listed
Sales and serviceThrough EMSnot listed on EMS's US website; confirm it is still soldSTORZ MEDICAL America, Kennesaw, GeorgiaCuraMedix also sells it, as the OrthoPulse Ultra 200
Regulatory recordRecord types and numbers exactly as located. A record covers one configuration and one indication, and never transfers to another product.
FDA record locatedPMA P050004None locatedrecords on other configurations from this manufacturer do not cover this model
Indication as worded in the recordChronic proximal plantar fasciitis in patients 18 or older, with symptoms for 6 months or more and a history of unsuccessful conservative therapyNo record to quote
Decision dateMay 2007Not stated
Our notes
Where it stands outA PMA approval, FDA's most stringent premarket pathway, covering chronic proximal plantar fasciitis.Radial pressure waves, vibration and vacuum therapy in one console.
What to checkAn older design that needs an external compressor. EMS's US website lists only its DolorClast Radial and Focused, so confirm the Classic is still sold before quoting.No FDA record names the MP200, and STORZ publishes no energy flux, depth or handpiece-life figures for it.

10 further fields have no published figure for either machine.

EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic vs STORZ MASTERPULS MP200 ultra: common questions

What is the difference between the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic and the STORZ MASTERPULS MP200 ultra?

Both the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic and the STORZ MASTERPULS MP200 ultra put their peak energy at the applicator surface, so they are built for the same clinical job and compare fairly. Both use pneumatic wave generation. The EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic is described as “Pneumatic radial, external compressor”, the STORZ MASTERPULS MP200 ultra as “Pneumatic ballistic radial, with vibration and vacuum therapy”.

Which is cheaper, the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic or the STORZ MASTERPULS MP200 ultra?

Neither publishes a purchase price, so both need a written quote. Prices change and estimates are not quotes, so confirm both in writing.

Are the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic and the STORZ MASTERPULS MP200 ultra FDA cleared?

FDA records located: for the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic, PMA P050004 (Chronic proximal plantar fasciitis in patients 18 or older, with symptoms for 6 months or more and a history of unsuccessful conservative therapy); for the STORZ MASTERPULS MP200 ultra, no record located. A record covers one configuration and one indication, and never transfers to another model, so check it against the exact configuration you are quoted.

How do I choose between the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic and the STORZ MASTERPULS MP200 ultra?

Start with the clinical job, then ask both vendors for the same five things in writing: the exact model, revision, and which accessories are included at that price; contract term, APR, total payments, and the buyout option at the end; handpiece and consumable life, and what a replacement costs; warranty coverage and US service turnaround time; the exact FDA clearance number and the current labelling for the configuration being quoted.

More comparisons

Still deciding?

Talk it through with our equipment team

Tell us about your practice and caseload. We will help you weigh the options and send lease and purchase estimates for the machines we sell.

Request a consultation
↑