- Price
- Not publicly listed
Both the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic and the Workhorse Mini / Pro / XL put their peak energy at the applicator surface, so they are built for the same clinical job and compare fairly. Both use pneumatic wave generation. Only the Workhorse Mini / Pro / XL has a published purchase figure ($3,949–$13,349); the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic's price is not published. FDA records located: for the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic, PMA P050004 (Chronic proximal plantar fasciitis in patients 18 or older, with symptoms for 6 months or more and a history of unsuccessful conservative therapy); for the Workhorse Mini / Pro / XL, no record located.
Specs and prices are estimates based on publicly available data as of September 2026. Confirm details with the manufacturer or seller before you buy.
| Specification | RadialEMS Swiss DolorClast Classic | Value tierWorkhorse Mini / Pro / XL |
|---|---|---|
Technology | ||
| Category | Radial pressure wave | Value and direct-import tier |
| Wave generation | Pneumaticexternal compressed-air supply | Pneumaticcompressed-air radial |
| Energy fieldWhere the peak energy lands | Peaks at the applicator surface | Peaks at the applicator surface |
| Technology as published | Pneumatic radial, external compressor | Radial pressure wave |
| Stated use or positioning | Not stated | Wellnessthe seller frames these devices around wellness rather than diagnosis or treatment |
Energy outputPressure in bar, energy flux density in mJ/mm² and energy per pulse in mJ are different quantities. A figure in one row never stands in for another. | ||
| Energy flux densitymJ/mm² | Up to 0.18 mJ/mm² | Not published |
| Pressurebar | 1–4 bar | 1–8 barMini; the XL runs 1.0–4.0 bar |
| FrequencyHz | Up to 15 Hz | 1–21 Hzall three models |
Applicators and handpiece | ||
| Applicators and transmitters | Handpiece with a 15 mm applicatoras described in the FDA summary | 5 applicatorsPro: 6, 9, 15, 20 and 25 mm |
| Handpiece life | Over 500,000 impulsesvalidated in the 2007 FDA summary | 3.5 million shotsXL; its manual says about 2 million per projectile |
| Preset protocols | Not published | 46Pro |
Size and setup | ||
| Unit weight | Not published | 26 lb (≈ 11.8 kg)Mini, without case |
| Configuration | Console with manometer and LCDruns from an external compressed-air supply; compressor and cart are optional accessories | Built-in compressorPro; the XL uses a German KNF air pump |
| Other published details | EMS's original radial devicesold since 1999 | 8-inch screenPro, with a second massage handle |
Price and buying | ||
| Purchase price | Not publicly listed | $3,949–$13,349Mini $3,949 · Pro $10,349 · XL $13,349 |
| Warranty and guarantees | Not published | One-year warrantylimited; consumables excluded |
| Sales and service | Through EMSnot listed on EMS's US website; confirm it is still sold | Direct e-commerce purchaseships within the United States only |
Regulatory recordRecord types and numbers exactly as located. A record covers one configuration and one indication, and never transfers to another product. | ||
| FDA record located | PMA P050004 | None located |
| Indication as worded in the record | Chronic proximal plantar fasciitis in patients 18 or older, with symptoms for 6 months or more and a history of unsuccessful conservative therapy | No record to quote |
| Decision date | May 2007 | Not stated |
| Other marks and claims | None noted | No FDA clearance claimedthe seller's footer says that, apart from any cleared indications referenced in public documentation, the devices have not been evaluated or approved by the FDA for medical treatment |
Our notes | ||
| Where it stands out | A PMA approval, FDA's most stringent premarket pathway, covering chronic proximal plantar fasciitis. | Radically cheaper, direct e-commerce purchase, one-year warranty. |
| What to check | An older design that needs an external compressor. EMS's US website lists only its DolorClast Radial and Focused, so confirm the Classic is still sold before quoting. | The seller frames these devices around wellness rather than diagnosis or treatment. Confirm the exact cleared indications before making any clinical claim. |
9 further fields have no published figure for either machine.
Both the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic and the Workhorse Mini / Pro / XL put their peak energy at the applicator surface, so they are built for the same clinical job and compare fairly. Both use pneumatic wave generation. The EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic is described as “Pneumatic radial, external compressor”, the Workhorse Mini / Pro / XL as “Radial pressure wave”.
Only the Workhorse Mini / Pro / XL has a published purchase figure ($3,949–$13,349); the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic's price is not published. Prices change and estimates are not quotes, so confirm both in writing.
FDA records located: for the EMS Swiss DolorClast Classic, PMA P050004 (Chronic proximal plantar fasciitis in patients 18 or older, with symptoms for 6 months or more and a history of unsuccessful conservative therapy); for the Workhorse Mini / Pro / XL, no record located. A record covers one configuration and one indication, and never transfers to another model, so check it against the exact configuration you are quoted.
Start with the clinical job, then ask both vendors for the same five things in writing: the exact model, revision, and which accessories are included at that price; contract term, APR, total payments, and the buyout option at the end; handpiece and consumable life, and what a replacement costs; warranty coverage and US service turnaround time; the exact FDA clearance number and the current labelling for the configuration being quoted.
Still deciding?
Tell us about your practice and caseload. We will help you weigh the options and send lease and purchase estimates for the machines we sell.